Dallas Branch
line decor
line decor

NLAPW History

The National League of American Pen Women is organization whose many historic members include Ida Tarbell, Carrie Jacobs Bond, Margaret Sanger, Amy Beach, Willa Cather, Edna St. Vincent Millay, Eleanor Roosevelt, Clare Booth Luce, Eudora Welty, Helen Keller, and Hillary Rodham Clinton.

The mission of the League is to encourage the production of creative work of professional standard in art, letters, and music and to provide activities, and educational, creative, and professional support to non-members in those fields via outreach. The League is a not-for-profit organization.

NLAPW was founded in 1897. Realizing a need for an organization that would include women of the press, Marian Longfellow O'Donohue, niece of Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, decided to create such an organization. Along with Margaret Sullivan Burke and Anna Sanborne Hamilton, Marian made plans for "bringing together women journalists, authors, and illustrators for mutual benefits and the strength that comes of union." It soon also included visual arts and musical composition.

On June 26, 1897, these three women brought together seventeen writers, novelists, newspaper women, a teacher, a poet, and an artist for the first meeting. The first National Convention was held in Washington, D. C., in April 1921, and the 300 women in attendance were received by President and Mrs. Warren G. Harding. Mrs. Harding was a distinguished member of the League, as was Mrs. Eleanor Roosevelt.

In 1978, following its 80th birthday, the League was presented with the Literary Hall of Fame Award in recognition of its contribution to the cultural life of the United States. Other recipients of the award have included Alexander Solzhenitsyn, Ariel and Will Durant, and Charles Schulz.

The official League headquarters is the Pen Arts Building, built in 1895 and part of the Dupont Historical District in Washington, D.C. Its most famous occupant was Robert Todd Lincoln, eldest son of President Abraham Lincoln. This twenty-room mansion was purchased by the League in 1951 and was entered on the National Register of Historical Sites in 1978.

Click here to go to NLAPW's national web site to learn more about the League's Annual Convention and upcoming National contests.

Dallas Branch
The Dallas Branch is the oldest branch in Texas, formed in 1922 as The Texas League of American Pen Women, and was renamed the Dallas Branch NLAPW in 1954.  We follow the same purpose and bylaws as the National NLAPW.

We are currently seeking qualified professional women in the arts to join our branch. (see membership info)